Monday, January 13, 2020

2019 Stay-At-Home Bowl: No Winner

With the conference championships now set, there is going to be no Stay-At-Home Bowl winner this season.

I.e., the teams that beat the Chiefs or Titans did not beat the Packers or 49ers, and vice versa.

Friday, January 03, 2020

2019 Stay-At-Home Bowl

I never did a final post about last year's Stay-At-Home Bowl, mainly because nobody won.

As a reminder, the Stay-At-Home Bowl is "the honor I bestow upon a team that has beaten both Super Bowl participants."

One final bit of business from last year's season, though, the 2017 winner, Kansas City, lost in the 2018 AFC Championship game. Now 12 of the 20 winners have made the playoffs the following year.

The possible winners this year are:
  • Baltimore Ravens
  • New Orleans Saints
  • Kansas City Chiefs
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • New England Patriots
  • Miami Dolphins 
The most unexpected entrant there is the Dolphins, who started 0-7 before going on to beat both the Eagles and the Patriots.

The Washington Post wrote an article about the most likely Super Bowl matchups. You have to get to the 9th-most-likely game (Patriots/49ers) before you have a winner (Ravens). The 10th-most-likely game (Ravens/Vikings) also has a winner (Chiefs).