Tuesday, April 20, 2004

Hugos vs. Nebulas

In a previous post from 2002 that kicked off my Hugo-reading project, I wrote:

The Hugos are awarded annually by a vote of science fiction writers (as opposed to the Nebulas, which are fan-driven).

Oops. Turns out, I had that exactly backwards.


I guess it's time to start over again. I made it up to 24 Hugos. Looking at the Nebula list, looks like I've read 11.

  1. 1965: Dune, Frank Herbert
  2. 1970: Ringworld, Larry Niven
  3. 1975: The Forever War, Joe Haldeman
  4. 1984: Neuromancer, William Gibson
  5. 1985: Ender's Game, Orson Scott Card
  6. 1986: Speaker for the Dead, Orson Scott Card
  7. 1992: Doomsday Book, Connie Willis
  8. 1993: Red Mars, Kim Stanley Robinson
  9. 1994: Moving Mars, Greg Bear
  10. 1998: Forever Peace, Joe Haldeman
  11. 2002: American Gods, Neil Gaiman

Of course, there have only been 40 Nebulas awarded (to novels), so it'll be a shorter list to make my way through.

No comments: